Have you ever had a lipstick break? Or maybe it wore down to the holster? I have this super easy solution, and I’ve done it myself, actually. You can save your lipsticks by creating your very own lipstick palette. All it will cost you is a dollar. One dollar!

I love lipstick. I use a lot of it. Not ashamed of my lipstick collection at all, lol. I do, however, have two small children that love to either eat, break it, or smear it in odd places. Not kidding… I got tired of throwing away my lipsticks when I loved the colors so I came up with an interesting idea. I don’t know if anyone else has done it before so I can’t claim it as an original idea. But it was at least original to me.

WHAT YOU NEED:

An eyeshadow palette- for mine, I used an nyx palette I didn’t like, but you can get an eyeshadow palette at The Dollar Tree for $1.00

The offending lipstick(s)

An orange stick or q-tip

One popsicle stick for each lipstick you’re salvaging

A cup or a dish

Baby wipes or paper towels

INSTRUCTIONS:

STEP #1: Take the eyeshadow palette and begin emptying the pots using the orange stick or q-tip. Then use the wipes or paper towels (with soap and water) and clean the pots. Dry. If your palette is plastic, simply run it under water with soap and dry.

STEP #2: Using a q-tip or orange stick, scoop out your lipstick onto/into the cup or dish you chose to use. Smash it up until it becomes creamy, and I promise you it will become creamy.

STEP #3: Use a popsicle stick to carefully scoop out/ slide off the lipstick into the specific pot. If you make a mess around the rim, use a q-tip to clean it up.

STEP #4: Use the same popsicle stick to carefully push the lipstick into the pot, working out any air bubbles. Slide the same stick across the top to even it out. And you’re done!

It’s messy, but easy. It’s a great money saver if you’re not ready to drop more money just to rebuy your favorite lipstick when it breaks. The lipstick will remain creamy but will not slide as long as you don’t let the palette get hot. All you’ll need to use your lipstick is your finger or whatever make-up applicator you regularly use for palette type lipsticks. Feel free to follow my blog, share if you tried the tutorial and liked it, and follow me on Twitter at @flumpymonkey .